La Femme Nienke (Nikita)

Nienke
Nienke (Nikita) Van de Haar, who resides in Amersfoot, Netherlands is a singer/songwriter with a unique sound of her own. About 10 years ago Nienke, put out her own album. All of the songs she wrote were Alternative Pop Ballads. As years passed, Nienke discovered a new style of music called “Symphonic Rock/Metal” where she performs with her band on stage at different entertainment venues. Not only Nienke loves to sing, but she also loves to dance. In February 2012, she became apart of the magical social networking site, “YouNow.” Since being apart of YouNow, she has broadcasted showing her singing and dancing talents live to the internet world. In fact she won a Karaoke contest and was also a runner-up in a dance contest. Both contests are held weekly on the site.
So this woman can write, sing, and do modern ballet. I interviewed Nienke about her love of music, dance, and Symphonic Rock/Metal.
Read and enjoy ^_^.

#1: When did you first fall in love with music and performing?

When I was 16 years old, I started taking singing lessons. Then I went to my first audition.

#2: Who are some of your most influential music artists you admire?

I started off listening to musicals like Les Miserables and Jesus Christ Superstar. As the years passed, I listened to classical and pop. I love Hayley Westenra and Celtic Woman. I loved Symphonic Rock music artists like Within Temptation, Nightwish, and Epica. I admire Sharon den Adel the most. I hope to sing a duet  with her someday.

#3: Explain what Symphonic Rock Metal is and how does it differ from Alternative Pop Ballads. 

Symphonic Rock/Metal is a combination of rock music with a classical touch. So the sounds are more soft. Most off the time you can sing very high notes in the music. I love to do that! I written my own Alternative Pop Ballads. They are a combination from pop and classical sounds. But there is nothing rocking about it. That’s what I love from Symphonic Rock/Metal.

#4: What five words would describe your sound and why?

Emotional

Melodic

Heavy

Slow

Fast

These words grab my emotions for my sound in a melodic way. It gets pretty heavy in both slow and fast songs.

#5: Share five facts about yourself that your fans may be surprised to know.

1. I didn’t have a good time at school. No one understood me.
2. I love to do Reiki.
3. I have technical skills like setting up websites. My website that I have up
 (Studio Nikita Lumet) is for singing and therapy (reiki, quantum touch, regenesis touch).
4. I love Classical Ballet.
5. Every holiday, I go to the mountains to walk all day.

#6: If you could pick 10 songs to represent the “Soundtrack of your Life” what would they be and why?

I would say my whole album because the songs on there are all about my life. They describe my path of my life very well. Because I change styles, I would end with the rock version off of “The Phantom of the Opera” from Nightwish with that last very high note. It feels like I am up and running with my music.

#7:  What are some things that you truly admire from your dedicated fan base?

If people try to get me down, my fans make them leave. They support me so much. Even if they requested a song from a long time ago, if it isn’t the best they would love it. 

#8: You have participated in a few YouNow Contests. You are a finalist in the MTV Voices Street Caster Contest  (July 2013). You were not only the winner of the weekly Karaoke Contest but also a runner-up in the weekly Dance Contest. How was it like participating in each of these contests?

For the Karaoke Contest, I was nervous. I thought to myself, “What will people think of me? Will they like my style?” When I went on to broadcast, I was relaxed and enjoyed doing it. It was so much fun!  Of course my fans came in and supported me. 

In the dance contest, I thought I wouldn’t be in the final round. I was doing a mix of modern and classical ballet on pointes. I never expected to go on. I even took off my pointes and let it all go. So yes it was exciting to go in to the final round. Someone even said “She already won the dance contest” because the host wanted to call my name. I don’t think that mattered at all, but being a runner-up was perfect. Can’t them win all!

MTV Voices was amazing as well. Yet I think my first round was better, but I loved to talk so it was great. Out of all the contests I did, I loved the karaoke contest was the best because singing is truly where my heart belongs.

#9: Where do you see yourself 10 years in your career?

Performing on stage every week! I just made my own artist website (http://www.xsnienke.nl). I performed with my new entertainment management company and decided that I would go on under the stage name Nienke. They are handling in booking performances for me. So now I think my singing career has started! I even made an extra fan page on Facebook.

#10:  Is there anything you want to share with the readers or your fans about any upcoming events to look out for?

If you live in The Netherlands, there is an event called “Back to the Wedding” and many more to come. 
I would like to thank Nienke for allowing me to interview her. She is the first person that I have interview outside the states!!!! Pretty darn cool. Much love and success to her. Make sure to check out her Facebook page and her website to check out her music. Follow her on Twitter as well.
If you would like to check out some of Nienke’s past broadcasts on YouNow here is her profile:
Follow Nienke on Twitter: @xsnienke 
 
Check out Nienke’s website:  http://www.xsnienke.nl
Check out and subscribe to Nienke’s YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/singernikita she has an amazing voice!
Stay Classy, Homies ^_^
Source: Nienke’s Bio – http://www.nikitalumet.eu/
2 thoughts on “La Femme Nienke (Nikita)

Share Your Thoughts

